29 October 2020 Event

Invitation to the Conference on Competitiveness 2020

Registration for the 2020 Conference on Competitiveness has been received through Peatix, however, there was a news report of Peatix's information leak on November 17.

According to Peatix's announcement, unauthorized access was not confirmed during the application acceptance period of 2020 Conference on Competitiveness, but for safety, the Porter Prize Steering Committee changed the application acceptance to an email to the office.  Please register through

Peatix is not involved in the ZOOM distribution on December 2nd.


> Date  :  13:00 to 15:00 Wednesday, December 2, 2020

> Online  :  Zoom Webinar

> Requirement  :  PC/Tablet/Smartphone with Internet access. 

                              Please ensure Zoom is installed in your device prior to the conference.

> Enrollment Limit  :  500 persons, Registrations are on a first-come, first-served basis.

                                    Please register early.

> Registration Fee  :  Free

> YouTube stream will be delivered simultaneously both in English and in Japanese. 

    If the registration reaches capacity please access YouTube.

> Program

13:00  Opening Remarks by Professor Emi Osono, Hitotsubashi ICS

13:05  Keynote Speech (recording) by Professor Michael E. Porter,

           Bishop William Lawrence University Professor, Harvard Business School

Professor Porter is a leading authority on competitive strategy and international competition, serving as an advisory board, attending every year in person or via recording since the inception of the Porter Prize.

13:20  Announcement of the Porter Prize 2020 winners by Professor Mikiharu Noma,

           Graduate School of Business Administration, Hitotsubashi University SBA

13:30  Interview with the winners (recording) and Q&A session with Professor Ken Kusunoki, 

           Hitotsubashi ICS (20 minutes for each company)

   Mr. Ryuji Sato, President, Milbon Co., Ltd.

   Mr. Hiroyuki Nagai, President and CEO, Rakuten Bank, Ltd.

   Mr. Takaya Awata, President (CEO), TORIDOLL Holdings Corporation

   Mr. Naoyuki Ide, CEO, YOHO Brewing Company

The top executives of each company will explain the uniqueness of their competitive strategies.

Professor Ken Kusunoki will respond to the questions from the viewers and explain the key points of their strategies.

<Questions will be collected through the Q&A function of the Webinar. Please refer to the mail sent after the registration for details.>

14:50  Closing Remarks by Professor Emi Osono

* Hitotsubashi ICS: School of International Corporate Strategy, Hitotsubashi University Business School

21th Porter Prize Application period

From 6 May 2021 (Thu)
  to 31 May 2021 (Mon)
Please send the application form to the applicant during the period mentioned above.
See How to Apply