Organization & Partners


Organizing Committee

The organizing body of the Porter Prize is Hitotsubashi University Business School Department of International Corporate Strategy (ICS).
It offers a full-time MBA program, EMBA program and DBA program. For more details about ICS, please see the website:

Professor Ken Kusunoki, Hitotsubashi ICS
Professor Emi Osono, Hitotsubashi ICS
Visiting Professor Takashi Nawa, Hitotsubashi ICS
Professor Mikiharu Noma, Hitotsubashi SBA

Hitotsubashi ICS : Hitotsubashi University Business School, School of International Corporate Strategy

Hitotsubashi SBA : Graduate School of Business Administration, Hitotsubashi University

Advisory Board

Professor Michael E. Porter, Bishop William Lawrence University Professor, Harvard Business School
Professor Hirotaka Takeuchi, Harvard Business School
The Advisory Board sets the objectives and the selection process for the Porter Prize. It is not involved in the selection itself.

Selection Committee

The selection committee is made up of academics knowledgeable about competitive strategy. It has sole responsibility for selecting the finalists and winners and functions independently of the Organizing Committee and the Advisory Board.


Mitsubishi UFJ Morgan Stanley
Mitsubishi UFJ Morgan Stanley Securities has provided customers with solutions that offer unrivalled global perspectives together with outstanding quality since its inception in May 2010 as a joint venture between Mitsubishi UFJ Financial Group (MUFG), the largest financial group in Japan, and Morgan Stanley, the top tier global investment bank. Corporations, organizations and governments around the world rely on our reputation as a global leader in investment banking. Our advisory and capital-raising services are recognized as among the best in the industry.