Three types of applicants are eligible for the Porter Prize :

High-performing Japanese companies competing in a single business or industry.

High-performing individual business divisions/sections within a large Japanese company

(i.e., business units of multiple-business companies)

High-performing small-to-medium sized companies

In order to recognize those emerging & growing companies in Japan, a new applicant category was established in 2008. The criterion to qualify will be to record an average annual net revenue (sales) amount of less than JPY10 billion over the most recent five-year period. Those companies that qualify are recommended to apply under this classification.
Porter Prize focuses on an individual industry because this is the core level of strategy, and the place where profitability is determined and competitive advantage is either won or lost. For illustrative purposes, an example of a company in a single industry is Mabuchi Motor and an example of a business unit within a large company is the Sony Computer Entertainment Inc. of Sony.

The eligibility of the award is also limited to Japanese companies Foreign companies which offer unique Japanese strategies are eligible to apply by exception

The prize was established with the objective of enhancing the competitiveness of Japanese firms by moving them beyond just competing on operational effectiveness to competing on strategy.

To quote Professor Porter, "If they are to escape the mutually destructive battle now ravaging their performance, Japanese companies will have to learn strategy."

Strategy is what sets high performers apart from low performers.


HItotsubashi ICS
Hitotsubashi University


Mitsubishi UFJ Morgan Stanley